About Isis Murillo Bravo

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Isis Murillo Bravo has created 9 blog entries.

Dr. Arielle Leitner (E09) Publishes “An Invitation to Coarse Groups” in Springer Link

In collaboration with Dr. Federico Vigolo, Dr. Arielle Leitner (E09) published the book An Invitation to Coarse Groups, which will be featured in Springer Lecture Notes in Mathematics. The book's two parts reflect its dual purpose: to lay the foundation for a theory and provide an entry-level introduction, and to invite further research by leading to [...]

2023-09-16T21:15:16+00:00September 16th, 2023|News|

Open Rank Professor of Mathematics and Statistics (Multiple Positions)

The Mount Holyoke College Department of Mathematics and Statistics invites applications for tenure-track faculty members from all fields of mathematics and statistics to begin in Fall 2024. These positions are open-rank, ideally with one at the assistant professor level and a senior hire at the associate or full professor level who is interested in mentorship [...]

2023-09-14T19:33:01+00:00September 14th, 2023|Opportunities|

Dr. Karoline Pershell (E03) is Awarded the AWM Service Award 2024

Dr. Karoline Pershell (E03) was named a recipient of the 2024 Service Award by the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM). Dr. Pershell is being recognized for her exceptional work in making the mathematics community more welcoming, inclusive and warm through her continuous and enthusiastic involvement with the AWM. The Service Award recognizes individuals who [...]

2023-09-08T15:20:04+00:00September 8th, 2023|Awards|

Alexis Hardesty (E18) Earned her PhD from Texas Tech University

Congratulations to Alexis Hardesty (E18) for successfully defending her dissertation at Texas Tech University! Her dissertation title was "Differential Graded Algebra Structures on Minimal Free Resolutions of Length Three." Dr. Hardesty is now an Associate Professor of Mathematics at Texas Woman's University. The following is an excerpt from Dr. Hardesty's teaching statement. "My overall goal [...]

2023-09-08T15:19:44+00:00September 8th, 2023|News|

Dr. Susan D’Agostino (E98) is Awarded the Spencer Fellowship at Columbia University

Dr. Susan D'Agostino (E98) was awarded the Spencer Fellowship for Education Reporting Award at Columbia Journalism School for the 2023-2024 academic year. This fellowship awards journalists and educators who want to develop and publish a long-term project that advances public understanding of education. Susan D'Agostino is currently a mathematician and technology reporter at Inside Higher [...]

2023-11-08T15:21:42+00:00August 7th, 2023|News|

Honoring Evelyn Boyd Granville

Evelyn Boyd, Lawrence House, Smith College Yearbook, 1945. (Image credit: Smith College) Evelyn Boyd Granville died at the age of 99 on June 27, 2023. Granville was the second African American woman in the United States to earn a Ph.D. in mathematics. Granville overcame racial adversity, among many systemic challenges, and rose up to significantly contribute [...]

2023-07-28T16:04:56+00:00July 28th, 2023|Uncategorized|

Executive Director at the American Mathematical Society

The Trustees of the American Mathematical Society invite applications for the position of Executive Director of the Society. The Executive Director has the opportunity to strongly influence all activities of the Society, as well as the responsibility of overseeing a large and diverse spectrum of people, programs, and publications. The Executive Director will be [...]

2023-06-03T00:40:13+00:00June 3rd, 2023|Opportunities|

Sarah Strikwerda (E18) Earned Her PhD!

We are delighted to share that Sarah Strikwerda (E18) earned her PhD in Applied Mathematics from North Carolina State University. Additionally, Sarah will be starting a postdoc program at UPenn this upcoming fall! We are beyond proud to see our EDGE alumnae achieve their goals and are honored to be part of their journey!

2023-08-03T17:13:32+00:00May 27th, 2023|News|

Marcella Manivel (E22) and Kimberly Hadaway (E21) Earn the NSF GRFP Award

Two recent EDGE alumnae, Marcella Manivel (E22) and Kimberly Hadaway (E21), received a 2023 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GFRP) award! We are excited to follow their research in this new part of their graduate journey. Learn more here: Mathematics graduate student awarded NSF fellowship, Iowa State University Marcella Manivel receives NSF [...]

2023-08-03T17:13:57+00:00May 26th, 2023|Awards, News|
Go to Top