The EDGE Foundation

The EDGE Foundation 2017-10-05T16:14:41+00:00

About the Foundation

The first phase of EDGE was launched in 1998 by Sylvia Bozeman and Rhonda Hughes to strengthen the ability of female students to successfully complete graduate programs in the mathematical sciences. As the number of EDGE participants grew so did its mentoring efforts. Now EDGE is much more than a summer bridge program. EDGE programs provide ongoing support for women pursuing careers in the mathematical sciences at several critical stages of their careers. In 2013, in response to an overwhelming push from EDGE participants, we established the Sylvia Bozeman and Rhonda Hughes EDGE Foundation to support these established programs.

EDGE Foundation Board of Directors

Sylvia Bozeman, Professor Emerita of Spelman College and co-founder of the EDGE Program

Robert Bryant, Professor of Mathematics, Duke University

Cecilia Conrad, Vice President, MacArthur Fellows Program at the MacArthur Foundation

Lloyd Douglas, co-Chair, Human Resources Advisory Committee at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute

Ingrid Daubechies, James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics at Duke University and first woman to receive the National Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics

Raegan Higgins, Associate Professor at Texas Tech University and co-Director of the EDGE Program (Ex-Officio Board Member)

Rhonda Hughes, Professor Emerita of Bryn Mawr College and co-founder of the EDGE Program

Ellen Kirkman, Professor of Mathematics at Wake Forest University and Treasurer of the Association for Women in Mathematics

Cara Petonic, Senior Manager, Corporate Strategy at Comcast

Ami Radunskaya, EDGE Foundation President. Professor of Mathematics at Pomona College

Talithia Williams, EDGE Foundation Secretary and Treasurer. Associate Professor of Mathematics at Harvey Mudd College, Treasurer of SACNAS (Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science) and 2000 EDGE summer participant

Ulrica Wilson, EDGE Foundation Vice-President. Associate Professor of Mathematics at Morehouse College

Contact Us